fbpx
IPhone

Disable Keep Normal Photo Option to Save Storage Space

Running out of storage space? One of the way to free up storage space is to delete photos with the HDR function on your iPhone.

What Is HDR on the iPhone?

Photographers use HDR to improve their photography and recently Apple adapted HDR for the iPhone camera. Here’s what HDR means and what HDR is on the iPhone.

What is HDR & What Does HDR Mean?

HDR stands for High Dynamic Range. But what does High Dynamic Range photography mean? It has to do with the differences in vision between the human eye and a camera. Dynamic Range in photography is the range from the lightest light and the darkest dark that can be seen in a photo. Our eyes can see a much larger dynamic range than a camera—and that’s where HDR comes in to make up the difference.

iPhone comes with this feature for taking photos. When you snap a picture, your iPhone actually takes 3 different photos with 3 different exposure and combine’s them to get the best quality result.

By default, your iPhone will store the 3 normal photos on top of the HDR photo. Since you already have the HDR photo, it is actually not necessary to store the normal photos. You can disable this by following the steps below.

From your home page, open the Settings by tapping on the gear icon as shown in the image below.

Leave a comment